Question about/ Opinions on, Handi-Rifles

Afternoon Freinds, A man just offered me a super deal on an H&R Handi-Rifle in 45-70 gov. Clean bore, no dings in the barrel crown, has a dashund sized Simmons scope and RealTree plastic furniture. Had an H&R shotgun back in my youth but no real knowledge on these rifles. Do I have any owners/users in here? What are your thoughts on this beast? Thanks in advance for your help fellow Esee-aholics.
    (Insert "Angry Flag Waving Smiley here.") Proud RP # 1055

brandon Guest
    I've shot two different rifles that breeched open when fired. One of them was mine and I've tried contacting them through emails written letters etc. ..with no response. My daddy owns a Buffalo classic that shoots really well though.

Ive had a few over the years, I really like them, what a joy to point and carry. They are not what I would call a long range precision rifle but they do make a fine brush gun. They are best descibed as a basic tool.

I have no experience with them in big bore calibres. I will say tho about 3 years ago I shot a Stag at 30 metres with a marlin 45/70 lever gun and I can honestly say that round is like a sledge hammer. It absolutly smashed this deer over.

Alot of guys over here buy them, supress them, dovetail the stock and turn them into pack rifles.
    Not everyone respects the Law, everyone respects the Gun

RP 1049

I have a Talo edition .44 mag carbine, .22 sportster and a couple shotguns. All of them function perfectly and they shoot well. The shotguns are some of my favorite hunting guns.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    RP# 1082

This forum is known for its tendency towards sheep lovin'. -cbwoods