Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Wetterlings vs gransfors bruks ?

Educate me ! I need a good medium sized axe to strap on my pack. open to other brands as well such as fiskars. I have a gerber camp axe 2 that I'm not too much a fan of so far (chipping already)

Both are good but I see a lot more people using Gransfors Bruks. I plan on getting their Wildlife hatchet soon.
    “Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power.”

I've got a couple wetterlings that I love. I couldn't justify paying for the gb since I'm not a logger by trade lol.
    Rat Pack Reject #3515
    Visit us here at: www.sharpedgereviews.com
    For more pics of my work: Salve7 Knife Mods
    Check out my store HuckleberryWoodchuck

You can also find nice forged heads at flea markets.
    Rat Pack Reject #3515

I've yet to see a wetterlings in person that is worth more than 20$ so I went with a small forest axe and it's well worth the cash to me
    Integrity begets integrity
    Respect begets respect

RP#673

I hear they are both great but I'm not sure if one has any advantage over the other. Besides price which I dont care that much. I like to buy top of the line once and have that be that

Quote Originally Posted by calebklyne View Post
    I've yet to see a wetterlings in person that is worth more than 20$ so I went with a small forest axe and it's well worth the cash to me
    What was wrong with the Wetterlings? I haven't handled either yet but I trust you guys enough to fly by faith

I've handled quite a few wetterlings and haven't seen anything that made me regret paying $80 for one. I haven't chopped with the GBs so I can't offer any input there. There are a few american made axes that are getting up there in quality without the crazy price.
    Rat Pack Reject #3515